Dr. Fei Qiao

Just arrived in Hainan (2010)
Near the Summer Palace in Beijing (2011)

Current address

  • Dr. Fei QIAO
  • Tropical Crops Genetic Resources Institute
  • Chinese Acdemy of Tropical Agriculture sciences, Danzhou City, Hainan Province, China, Post code: PRC-571737
  • Tel: +86 (0)898 2330-6945 (Office) +86 (0)898 2330-9682 (home) Mobile Phone: +86 (0)187 8923 0586
  • e-mail 樵夫 <fei qiaoWhm4∂foxmail com>
  • Research Gate

 

Ph.D. thesis: Qiao, Fei (2010) How cytoskeleton senses abiotic/biotic stimuli in plant cells?

He tested the hypothesis, whether the cytoskeleton in addition to structural also conveys sensory functions. He used two model systems to address this: the light-sensitive tobacco cell line VBI-3 and two grapevine cell cultures originating from genotypes that differ with respect to disease resistance. He could show that pattern formation in VBI-3 is controlled by the plant phototreceptor phytochrome and is mediated by actin dependent auxin transport. Moreover he could demonstrate that microtubules can steer defence genes.

 

Publications from the Ph.D.

Qiao, F., Petrášek, J., Nick, P. (2010) Light can rescue auxin-dependent synchrony of cell division. J. Exp. Bot. 61, 503-510 - pdf

Qiao, F., Chang, X., Nick, P. (2010) The cytoskeleton enhances gene expression in the response to the Harpin elicitor in grapevine. J. Exp. Bot. 61, 4021–4031 - pdf

 

Current research

As head of a research team at the Tropical Crops Genetic Resources Institute in Hainan he continued to work on cytoskeleton and disease resistance to understand and improve resistance of banana against the Fusarium wilt. In addition he started to work on plants used in Traditional Chinese Medicine that have shifted to the verge of extinction. He established cell cultures for these plants aiming to production of the active compounds by Plant Cell Fermentation. We have established a cooperation on this topic, funded by a joint programme by the German and the Chinese Ministry of Agriculture. As first step the transcriptome of Cephalotaxus hainanensis was deciphered. This tree species exists only in very few specimens and produces valuable against ovary cancer, so called Harringtonins.

109. Qiao F, Chong H, Wang R, Yin J, Qian D, Yang X, Jiang X, Nick P (2014) De-novo characterization of a Cephalotaxus hainanensis transcriptome and genes related to paclitaxel biosynthesis. PloS ONE 9, e106900 - pdf

Dr. Fei Qiao

Neu angekommen in Hainan (2010)
Beim Sommerpalast in Beijing (2011)

Aktuelle Addresse

  • Dr. Fei QIAO
  • Tropical Crops Genetic Resources Institute
  • Chinese Acdemy of Tropical Agriculture sciences, Danzhou City, Hainan Province, China, Post code: PRC-571737
  • Tel: +86 (0)898 2330-6945 (Office) +86 (0)898 2330-9682 (home) Mobile Phone: +86 (0)187 8923 0586
  • e-mail 樵夫 <fei qiaoGns7∂foxmail com>
  • Research Gate

 

Doktorarbeit: Qiao, Fei (2010) How cytoskeleton senses abiotic/biotic stimuli in plant cells?

Er prüfte die Hypothese, dass das pflanzliche Cytoskelett eine sensorische und weniger eine strukturelle Funktion erfüllt. Er benutzte dafür zwei Modellsysteme: die licht-empfindliche Tabakzell-Linie VBI-3 und zwei Weinkulturen, die von Arten herstammten, die sich in ihrer Pathogenresistenz unterschieden. Er konnte zeigen, dass Musterbildung in VBI-3 über den pflanzlichen Photorezeptor Phytochrom gesteuert und über actinabhängigen Auxintransport vermittelt wird. Ausserdem konnte er zeigen, dass Mikrotubuli für Aktivierung von Abwehrgenen eine steuernde Funktion spielen.

 

Publikationen aus der Doktorarbeit

  • Qiao, F., Petrášek, J., Nick, P. (2010) Light can rescue auxin-dependent synchrony of cell division. J. Exp. Bot. 61, 503-510 - pdf
  • Qiao, F., Chang, X., Nick, P. (2010) The cytoskeleton enhances gene expression in the response to the Harpin elicitor in grapevine. J. Exp. Bot. 61, 4021–4031 - pdf

 

Aktuelle Forschung

Als Leiter einer Forschungsgruppe am Tropical Crops Genetic Resources Institute in Hainan setzt er seine Arbeiten zu Cytoskelett und Krankheitsresistenz fort um Fusarium Resistenz bei Bananen verstehen und kontrollieren zu können. Ausserdem hat er damit begonnen, Pflanzen, die in der Traditionellen Chinesischen Medizin genutzt werden, aber so selten geworden sind, dass sie kurz vor der Ausrottung stehen, in Zellkultur zu nehmen, um so die Inhaltsstoffe eines Tages über Pflanzliche Zellfermentation zugänglich machen zu können. Auf diesem Feld arbeiten wir zusammen, gefördert durch ein Kooperationsprogramm der deutschen und chinesischen Landwirtschaftsministerien. In einem ersten Schritt wurde das Transkription der Hainanensischen Kopfeibe (Cephalotaxus hainanensis) entschlüsselt. Diese nur noch in wenigen Exemplaren vorkommende Baumart produziert sehr wertvolle Wirkstoffe gegen Eierstockkrebs, sogenannte Harringtonine.

109. Qiao F, Chong H, Wang R, Yin J, Qian D, Yang X, Jiang X, Nick P (2014) De-novo characterization of a Cephalotaxus hainanensis transcriptome and genes related to paclitaxel biosynthesis. PloS ONE 9, e106900 - pdf