Dr. Xin Guan

As freshly baken Ph.D., together with colleague Dr. Ahmed Ismail.
Dr. Xin Guan (image from her website).

Current address

  • Dr. Xin GUAN
  • College of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
  • Southwest University, Tianshenglu 2, Beibei, 400700, Chongqing, China, Postcode 400700
  • Tel: +86-(0)-23-6825-1047 (Office)
  • e-mail xinguan cndePqz7∂googlemail com
  • website

Ph.D. thesis: Guan, Xin (2013) Functional Analysis of Cytoskeletal Signalling in the Defence Response of Grapevine

Xin Guan joined the group in 2010 with a fellowship of the prestigious Chinese Scholarship Council. She investigated the role of the cytoskeleton for the response of plant cells to pathogen attack. In cooperation with the group of Dr. Günther Buchholz, AlPlanta, Neustadt, she succeeded to generate transgenic grapes, where the cytoskeleton was labelled by the Green Fluorescent Protein from the jellyfish Aequorea. This allowed her to observe, how actin filaments (the muscle fibres of plant cells) disassemble, when a flagellated spore of Downy Mildew attaches at the guard cell. Not only this: even the other cells of the leaf surface show the same response, although they did not experience any direct contact with the pathogen. Also for the second system of the plant cytoskeleton, the microtubules, she was able to generate a grapevine cell line, where the microtubules are fluorescent. Using this tool, she was able to demonstrate that microtubules not only respond to salt or cold stress, but also to the plant stress hormone jasmonate.

Publications from her Ph.D.

  • Guan X, Buchholz G, Nick P (2013) The cytoskeleton is disrupted by the bacterial effector HrpZ, but not by the bacterial PAMP flg22 in tobacco BY-2 cells. J Exp Bot 64, 1805-1816 - pdf
  • Guan X, Buchholz G, Nick P (2014) Actin marker lines in grapevine reveal a gatekeeper function of guard cells. J Plant Physiol 171, 1164–1173 - pdf
  • Guan X, Buchholz G, Nick P (2015) Tubulin marker line of grapevine suspension cells as a tool to follow early stress responses. J Plant Phys 176, 118-128 - pdf

Current research

After her Ph.D., Dr. Xin Guan moved as postdoc to the Université de Haute-Alsace in Colmar and worked on the cellular aspects of grapevine diseases that are caused by wood-decaying fungi. This research was integrated into the research network Bacchus - Research for Sustainable Viticulture, funded by the Interreg Upper Rhine. In this context, she compared different grape varieties, but also wild grapes, among others some of our wild grapes raised in the collection of our Botanical Garden. She revealed that some wild grapes (Vitis sylvestris, the ancestor of our domesticated grapevine) were resistant against wood-decaying fungi. This allows, therefore, to breed, by crossing these wild grapes, new varieties, that can cope with these diseases. Due to global warming, these diseases spread currently also in France and Germany. In the past, they were contained by arsenic, but for good reasons, this is not allowed any longer in Europe. The research by Dr. Guan indicates that there exist alternative, ecologically safe pathways to control this disease.

After her postdoc, she returend to China, where she got an assistance professor position at the Southwest University in Chongjing. Here as well, she remained linked with the topic genetic resources from crop wild relatives. This time, she works on Citrus species. This genus has been domesticated in Southwest China, where there is also the diversity centre. Some of the wild Citrus species are used in the elaborate system of Traditional Chinese Medicine, among others to treat tumours. In a cooperative projects, extracts from different Citrus species were screened for a potential activity against microtubules, and from the comparison between compounds and biological activity, different molecular candidates were identfied. Among those, the secondary compound gallic acid was analysed in more detail. In cooperation with the Institute for Toxikology and Genetics (ITG, AG Prof. Dr. Ute Schepers) team member Si Tan from Dr. Xin's lab (by the way also funded by the Chinese Scholarship Council) could demonstrate that gallic acid can induced apoptosis, a kind of cellular suicide, in HeLa cancer cells. A closer investigation uncovered that this was linked with abnormal cell divisions, where microtubules were assembled in division spindles with three or even four polse, such that the chromosomes of these cancer cells were distributed unequally, such that the cell died soon. The reason for this effect is that cancer cells due to their abnormity generate several centrioles (these are the organisation centers for the division spindles), but that they "glue" these centrioles together, such that they still can form a functional spindle This "glueing" is disrupted by gallic acid. The good point: healthy cells harbour only two centrioles, and therefore do not need to "glue" anything, such that they are not affected by gallic acid.

Publication on wood decaying fungi

118. Guan X, Essaki H, Laloue H, Nick P, Bertsch C, Chong J (2016) Mining new resources for grape resistance against Botryosphaeriaceae: a focus on Vitis vinifera ssp. sylvestris. Plant Pathol 65, 273-284 - pdf

Publications on active compounds from wild Citrus

119. Tan S, Grün C, Guan X, Zhou Z, Schepers U, Nick P (2015) Gallic acid induces mitotic catastrophe and inhibits centrosomal clustering in HeLa cells. J Toxicol in vitro 30, 506-513 - pdf

126. Guan X, Tan S, Zhou Z Buchholz G, Nick P (2016) Mining secondary metabolites with microtubular activity in fruit extracts of Chinese wild Citrus. J Integr Agriculture in press, 24.08.2016

Dr. Xin Guan

Als frischgebackene Doktorin, gemeinsam mit Dr. Ahmed Ismail.
Dr. Xin Guan (Bild von ihrer Netzseite).

Aktuelle Addresse

  • Dr. Xin GUAN
  • College of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
  • Southwest University, Tianshenglu 2, Beibei, 400700, Chongqing, China, Postcode 400700
  • Tel: +86-(0)-23-6825-1047 (Office)
  • e-mail xinguan cndeLea5∂googlemail com
  • website

Doktorarbeit: Guan, Xin (2013) Functional Analysis of Cytoskeletal Signalling in the Defence Response of Grapevine

Xin Guan kam 2010 mit einem Stipendium des angesehenen Chinese Scholarship Council ans KIT. Sie untersuchte die Rolle des Cytoskeletts für die Antwort von Pflanzenzellen auf Angriff durch Pathogene. In Kooperation mit der Gruppe von Dr. Günther Buchholz, AlPlanta, Neustadt, gelang es ihr dabei, transgene Weinreben herzustellen, bei denen das Cytoskelett durch das Grün Fluoreszente Protein aus der Qualle Aequorea markiert war. Damit konnte sie beobachten, dass sich die Actinfilamente (die Muskelfasern der Pflanzenzelle) verschwinden, wenn sich die begeißelte Spore des Falschen Mehltaus an der Spaltöffnung festsetzt. Damit nicht genugt: auch die anderen Zellen der Blattaußenseite zeigen dieselbe Reaktion, obwohl sie selbst gar keinen Kontakt mit dem Krankheitserreger hatten. Auch für das zweite System des pflanzlichen Cytoskeletts, die Mikrotubuli, konnte sie eine Zell-Linie aus Weinreben herstellen, worin die Mikrotubuli fluoreszieren. Damit konnte sie zeigen, dass die Mikrotubuli nicht nur auf Salz- oder Kältestress reagieren, sondern auch auf das pflanzliche Stresshormon Jasmonat.

Publikationen aus der Doktorarbeit

  • Guan X, Buchholz G, Nick P (2013) The cytoskeleton is disrupted by the bacterial effector HrpZ, but not by the bacterial PAMP flg22 in tobacco BY-2 cells. J Exp Bot 64, 1805-1816 - pdf
  • Guan X, Buchholz G, Nick P (2014) Actin marker lines in grapevine reveal a gatekeeper function of guard cells. J Plant Physiol 171, 1164–1173 - pdf
  • Guan X, Buchholz G, Nick P (2015) Tubulin marker line of grapevine suspension cells as a tool to follow early stress responses. J Plant Phys 176, 118-128 - pdf

Aktuelle Forschung

Nach der Promotion ging Dr. Xin Guan als Postdoktorandin an die Université de Haute-Alsace in Colmar und arbeitete dort an zellulären Aspekten von Rebkrankheiten, die durch holzzerstörende Pilze ausgelöst werden. Diese Arbeiten waren in das von Interreg Oberrhein geförderten Forschungsnetzwerk Bacchus - Forschung für nachhaltigen Weinbau eingebunden. In diesem Zusammenhang führte sie vergleichende Untersuchungen mit verschiedenen Rebsorten, aber auch Wildreben durch, unter anderem auch mit Genotypen aus der Wildrebensammlung unseres Botanischen Gartens. Dabei fand sie heraus, dass einige Wildreben (Vitis sylvestris, die Stammform unserer Kulturrebe) gegen holzzerstörende Pilze resistent sind. Damit hat man also die Möglichkeit, durch Kreuzung mit diesen Wildreben neue Rebsorten herzustellen, die gegen diese Krankheiten resistenter sind. Im Zuge der globalen Erwärmung breiten sich diese Krankheiten momentan auch in Frankreich und Deutschland aus. Früher hat man sie durch Arsen bekämpft, aber diese Behandlung ist aus guten Gründen in Europa verboten worden. Die Arbeiten von Dr. Guan zeigen einen anderen, ökologisch verträglicheren Weg, dieses Problem einzudämmen.

Nach ihrem Postdoktorat kehrte sie nach China zurück, wo sie an der Southwest University in Chongjing eine Assistenzprofessur annahm. Auch hier blieb sie mit dem Thema genetische Ressourcen aus Wildpflanzen verbunden, diesmal geht es um Citrusfrüchte, die ja in Südwestchina domestiziert wurden und hier ihr Diversitätszentrum besitzen. Einige dieser Wildcitrus-Arten werden im ausgefeilten System der Traditionellen Chinesischen Medizin eingesetzt, unter anderem auch zur Behandlung von Tumoren. In einem Kooperationsprojekt wurden Extrakte aus verschiedenen Citrus-Arten auf eine mögliche Wirkung gegen Mikrotubuli untersucht, aus dem Vergleich von Inhaltsstoffen und biologischer Wirksamkeit wurden dann verschiedene molekulare Kandidaten identifiziert, wovon dann der Sekundärstoff Gallussäure genauer untersucht wurde. In Kooperation mit dem Institut für Toxikologie und Genetik (ITG, AG Prof. Dr. Ute Schepers) konnte Dr. Xins Mitarbeiterin Si Tan (übrigens ebenfalls gefördert vom Chinese Scholarship Council) zeigen, dass Gallussäure bei HeLa Krebszellen eine sogenannte Apoptose auslöst, eine Art zellulären Selbstmord. Eine genauere Untersuchung zeigte, dass dies mit abnormen Zellteilungen einherging, bei denen die Mikrotubuli in Teilungsspindeln mit drei oder gar vier Polen organisiert wurden, so dass die Chromosomen der Krebszellen ungleich verteilt wurden, wodurch die Zelle dann natürlich bald einging. Der Grund für diese Wirkung ist, dass die Krebszellen zwar aufgrund ihrer Störung mehrere Centriolen bilden (das sind die Organisationszentren für die Teilungsspindel), diese aber dann miteinander "verkleben", so dass dennoch eine funktionierende Teilungsspindel entsteht. Dieses "Verkleben" wird durch Gallussäure gehemmt. Das Gute dabei: bei gesunden Zellen gibt es nur zwei Centriolen, hier muss also gar nichts "verklebt" werden und daher entfaltet Gallussäure auf gesunde Zellen also gar keine negative Wirkung.

Publikation zu holzzerstörenden Pilzen

118. Guan X, Essaki H, Laloue H, Nick P, Bertsch C, Chong J (2016) Mining new resources for grape resistance against Botryosphaeriaceae: a focus on Vitis vinifera ssp. sylvestris. Plant Pathol 65, 273-284 - pdf

Publikationen zu Wirkstoffen aus Wildcitrus

119. Tan S, Grün C, Guan X, Zhou Z, Schepers U, Nick P (2015) Gallic acid induces mitotic catastrophe and inhibits centrosomal clustering in HeLa cells. J Toxicol in vitro 30, 506-513 - pdf

126. Guan X, Tan S, Zhou Z Buchholz G, Nick P (2016) Mining secondary metabolites with microtubular activity in fruit extracts of Chinese wild Citrus. J Integr Agriculture in press, 24.08.2016