The hebiba mutation has been elucidated

AOC
After one decade of work, we identified the gene behind the hebiba, a rice mutant mixing up light and dark - the Allene Oxid Cyclase, an enzyme in the early synthesis of the stress hormone jasmonic acid.

Publication

95. Riemann M, Haga K, Shimizu T, Okada K, Ando S, Mochizuki S, Nishizawa Y, Yamanouchi U, Nick P, Yano M, Minami E, Takano M, Yamane H, Iino M (2013) Isolation of Rice ALLENE OXIDE CYCLASE mutants and the function of jasmonate for defence against Magnaporthe oryzae. Plant J 74, 226-238 - pdf

(77 quotations, 11.0 p.a., state 27.12.2019)

 

What is the topic?

During the search for signals that control the growth response to light, we discovered 1991 in Japan a rice mutant that at first glance appeared to be blind. At a second glance it turned out to see the light, but to interpret it as dark. This mutant was termed hebiba (Japanese for "snake leaf") due to its long and creeping leaves. Ten years later, we found that the mutant was not able to produce the hormone jasmonic acid (Riemann et al. 2003). Before, jasmonic acid had been known as wound signal. The surprising phenotype of the hebiba mutant led us to understand jasmonic acid as central regulator for stress adaptation. Which gene was affected in the mutant, was not clear, however. The hebiba had been generated by gamma rays in the so called Gamma-Fierudo of the Japanese Ministry for Agriculture, Forestry and Fishery, a huge area in a forest North of Tokyo, where a gigantic cobalt bomb is exposing experimental plants cultivated in this field. Cobalt rays often delete entire gene pieces, sometimes even several genes at a time. As a result, one gets not only base exchanges, but also deletions.

The paper tells now the path from the mutant phenotype to the mutant gene. In reality, this path lasted for several years and become only possible by intensive cooperation between German and Japanese scientists. First, the hebiba mutant was crossed with a strongly differing rice variety from India, Kasalath to generate a large progeny of quite different individuals. Each individual got different chromosomes or parts from the mutant. Since hebiba was made in the background of the Japanese rice variety Nihonmasari, many genetical differences between the two parent varieties were known and if one is now looking at those individuals that show the hebiba-phenotype (these are seedlings with long coleoptiles although grown under light), one can use PCR targeted to the parent specific markers to find out, which chromosome region from the Japanese parent is present. This allows to pin down the location of the mutation in the rice genome. At the end it turned out that in hebiba a chromosome piece was lacking, where ten different genes are located. Among them the gene for Allene Oxid Cyclase, a central enzyme for the synthesis of jasmonic acid. This gene was therefore a hot candidate, but the proof that the curious phenotype of the mutant was really caused by the absence of this enzyme, was still to be conducted:

For this goal, the intact version of Allene Oxid Cyclase was isolated from the wild type and introduced into the mutant genome using Agrobacterium tumefaciens. The resulting transgenic plants recovered the ability to respond normally to light - their coleoptiles were short in the light, long in the dark, just as normally in rice (in the mutant, they behave exactly the other way round). This demonstrated that the gene for Allene Oxid Cyclase was necessary and sufficient for a normal light response. In addition to hebiba we were able to find a second mutant affected in the same gene, coleoptile photomorphogenesis 2. Here, only a small piece (11 base pairs) was missing, but also this mutant was mixing up light and dark and could be "rescued" by an intact version of the Allene Oxid Cyclase gene. Such a "rescue" is used as important evidence that a certain mutation in a given gene is really responsible for the observed phenotype.

Die hebiba Mutation ist aufgeklärt

AOC
Nach einem Jahrzehnt Arbeit konnten wir das Gen hinter der Mutante hebiba, die Licht und Dunkel verwechselt, identifizieren - die Allen Oxid Cyclase, ein Enzym im frühen Syntheseweg des Stresshormons Jasmonsäure

Veröffentlichung

95. Riemann M, Haga K, Shimizu T, Okada K, Ando S, Mochizuki S, Nishizawa Y, Yamanouchi U, Nick P, Yano M, Minami E, Takano M, Yamane H, Iino M (2013) Isolation of Rice ALLENE OXIDE CYCLASE mutants and the function of jasmonate for defence against Magnaporthe oryzae. Plant J 74, 226-238 - pdf

(77 Zitate, 11.0 pro Jahr, Stand 27.12.2019)

 

Worum geht es?

Bei der Suche nach Signalen, die für die Reaktion des pflanzlichen Wachstums auf Licht eine Rolle spielen, entdeckten wir 1991 in Japan eine Reismutante, die auf den ersten Blick blind war. Auf den zweiten Blick zeigte sich dann aber, dass diese Mutante Licht durchaus wahrnehmen konnte, dass sie aber Licht und Dunkel verwechselte. Diese Mutante, die aufgrund ihrer verlängerten Blätter hebiba (japanisch für Schlangenblatt) getauft wurde, konnte dann zehn Jahre später aufgeklärt werden - sie war nicht in der Lage, das Hormon Jasmonsäure zu bilden (Riemann et al. 2003). Jasmonsäure war bis dahin vor allem als Wundsignal bekannt gewesen. Ausgelöst durch die überraschende Erklärung für die hebiba Mutante konnten wir inzwischen zeigen, dass dieses Hormon, zumindest bei Reis, das zentrale Signal für die Anpassung an Stress darstellt. Welches Gen bei dieser Mutante betroffen ist, war jedoch nicht bekannt. Die hebiba Mutante war seinerzeit durch Gammabestrahlung im sogenannten Gamma-Fierudo des japanischen Landwirtschaftsministerium erzeugt worden, ein riesiges Gelände, in dessen Mitte eine gigantische Kobaltstrahlenquelle ausgefahren wird und die im Umkreis angebauten Versuchspflanzen bestrahlt. Durch Kobaltstrahlung werden häufig ganze Stücke von Genen, manchmal sogar mehrere Gene, herausgeschossen, man hat es also mit sogenannten Gendeletionen zu tun.

In der Arbeit ist nun zusammengefasst, wie man vom Erscheinungsbild der hebiba-Mutante zum betroffenen Gen gelangt ist, auch dies ein Prozess, der viele Jahre gedauert hat und nur durch eine intensive Kooperation zwischen deutschen und japanischen Wissenschaftlern gelang: zunächst wurde die hebiba-Mutante mit einer stark abweichenden Reissorte aus Indien, Kasalath, gekreuzt und daraus eine große Nachkommenschaft erzeugt. Jede dieser Pflanzen hat unterschiedliche Teile der hebiba-Mutante abbekommen. Da hebiba in der japanischen Reissorte Nihonmasari erzeugt worden war, kennt man viele genetische Unterschiede zu Kasalath und kann daher bei den Pflanzen, die den hebiba-Phänotyp besitzen (also Licht und Dunkel verwechseln) mithilfe einer sogenannten PCR feststellen, welches Chromosomenstück der japanischen Elternpflanze hier vorliegt. So gelang es, den Ort der Mutation immer weiter einzugrenzen. Am Ende zeigte sich, dass bei hebiba ein Stück fehlte, auf dem sonst zehn verschiedene Gene vorkommen, darunter auch das Gen für Allenoxid Cyclase, ein zentrales Enzym für die Erzeugung von Jasmonsäure. Das war also ein Kandidat, der Beweis, dass der merkwürdige Phänotyp der Mutante tatsächlich durch das Fehlen dieses Enzyms verursacht ist, musste aber noch geführt werden:

Dazu wurde aus dem Wildtyp von Reis das intakte Gen für Allenoxid Cyclase isoliert und mithilfe von Agrobacterium tumefaciens in die Mutante eingeführt. Die solcherart komplementierten Pflanzen waren nun wieder in der Lage, auf Licht normal zu reagieren - die Koleoptilen waren dann im Licht kurz, wie im Wildtyp und nicht lang wie bei der Mutante. Damit war gezeigt, dass das Gen für Allenoxid Cyclase notwendig und hinreichend für eine normale Lichtreaktion ist. Neben hebiba konnten wir noch eine zweite Mutante im selben Gen finden, coleoptile photomorphogenesis 2. Hier fehlte nur ein kleines Stück (11 Basenpaare) - dennoch verwechselte auch diese Mutante Licht und Dunkel, konnte aber durch ein intaktes Allenoxid Cyclase Gen "geheilt" werden. Dieser sogenannte rescue ist ein wichtiger Beleg, dass eine Veränderung in einem bestimmten Gen auch tatsächlich für den Phänotyp verantwortlich ist.