2014_08 Plant Cells On A Chip

Pflanzen_Chip
In the programme New Products in Bioeconomy the BMBF funds or microfluidic bioreactor to produce plant pharmaceuticals.

The plant kingdom offers more than a million compounds that exist exclusively in plants. Plants have evolved these compounds to manipulate other life forms (from microbes to man) to do jobs for them. No wonder that many of those compounds are medically active.

Technical synthesis of these often complex compounds turns out to be difficult, though. Also their production in biofermenters is a challenge, because often different plant tissues have to cooperate to generate those molecules. 

In cooperation with the group of Dr. Andreas Guber at the Institute for Mikrosystems Technology (IMT) of the KIT we succeeded in a five year joint venture to build by means of microfluidic chips a kind of artificial plant tissue that might allow to produce such compounds. The further development of this microfluidic bioreactor, which has been registered for patenting, will now be supported by the Federal Ministry of Research in frame of the programme "New Products in Bio-Economy". The project is scheduled to start in august this year.

2014_08 Ein Chip für Pflanzenzellen

Pflanzen_Chip
Im Programm Neue Produkte Bioökonomie fördert das BMBF unseren mikrofluidischen Bioreaktor zur Erzeugung wertvoller pflanzlicher Pharmazeutika.

Das Pflanzenreich bietet mehr als eine Million Inhaltsstoffe, die nur hier vorkommen. Pflanzen haben diese Stoffe entwickelt, um damit andere Lebensformen (von Mikroben bis Menschen) für ihre Zwecke zu manipulieren. Kein Wunder, dass viele dieser Substanzen auch medizinisch aktiv sind.

Die technische Erzeugung dieser oft sehr komplex aufgebauten Wirkstoffe ist jedoch schwierig. Auch die Herstellung in Biofermentern steht vor Problemen, weil sehr oft unterschiedliche Pflanzengewebe zusammenarbeiten müssen, um diese Substanzen zu erzeugen.

Gemeinsam mit der Arbeitsgruppe von Dr. Andreas Guber am Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT) des KIT, ist es uns in einem fünf Jahre dauernden Weg gelungen, mithilfe von mikrofluidischen Chips eine Art künstliches Pflanzengewebe zu bauen, mit dem die Erzeugung solcher Substanzen gelingen könnte. Die weitere Entwicklung dieses zum Patent angemeldeten mikrofluidischen Bioreaktors wird nun vom BMBF im Rahmen des Programms "Neue Produkte der Bioökonomie" gefördert. Projektbeginn ist August diesen Jahres.