Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Metabolic Engineering in Tobacco Cells

Nornicotin-Synthese
Alkaloid synthesis in tobacco BY-2 cells. We are interested in nornicotin, a compound active against Alzheimer disease.

Background

Plant produce numerous secondary metabolites of medical impact. Since these are generated only in specific cell types or tissue, extraction from the natural source, as well as their biotechnological production in fermenters is often not very successful. We follow thereore a biomimetic strategy, where different cell types are coupled to generate a "technical copy of a tissue". In principle, we want to play "metabolic LEGO" to generate different compounds by combination of metabolic modules.

Project Topic

In cooperation with the Institute for Mikrostructure (Group Dr. Guber) we developed a microfluidic Two-Chamber-System and adapted this system for tobacco BY-2 cells. The system is filed for patenting and in frame of the BMBF Programme “New Bio-Economy” we want to test the idea of "metabolic LEGO" together with Phyton Biotech (Ahrensburg). As model for this proof-of-principle we have selected alkaloid metabolism of tobacco, which we want to reengineer such that the cells produce nornicotin, a compound with a recently discovered strong effect against Alzheimer.

Scope of the Study

We were already successful in generating two metabolic modules. The first module overexpresses a key enzyme of early alkaloid synthesis, the second module a cytochrome-P450 enzyme that produces nornicotin. Analysis of alkaloids by HPLC demonstrate that both modules are functional. The problem is, however, that the cells retain the products. In frame of the project we want to test, whether this problem can be overcome by a physical trick: by means of extremely strong (1-30 kV/cm), but extremely short (10-50 ns) electrical fields it is possible to induce in plant cells temporary membrane pores that are resealed within a few minutes. The cells survive this treatment and even continue to divide. We want to test, whether this treatment can stimulate export of the products into the culture medium. These treatments will be performed in the lab of our cooperation partner Dr. Wolfgang Frey at the Institute for High Energy Impulse and Microwave Technology (IHM), the cell biological investigations and the measurement of alkaloids by HPLC will be conducted in the Botanical Institute.

Supervision

Fatemeh Rajabi. contact partner at the IHM: Dr. Christian Gusbeth.

Positions 

1 Ph.D. student

Publications

Ziegler J, Facchini PJ (2008) Alkaloid Biosynthesis: Metabolism and Trafficking. Annu Rev Plant Biol 59, 735-769 – pdf

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Metabolic Engineering in Tabakzellen

Nornicotin-Synthese
Alkaloid-Synthese in Tabak-BY-2 Zellen. Interessant ist Nornicotin, das als Wirkstoff gegen Alzheimer diskutiert wird.
Hintergrund

Der pflanzliche Sekundärstoffwechsel produziert zahlreiche Inhaltsstoffe von medizinischer Bedeutung. Da diese nur in bestimmten Zelltypen oder Geweben erzeugt werden, ist die Extraktion aus natürlichen Quellen ebenso wie die biotechnologische Erzeugung in Fermentern nicht sehr erfolgreich. Wir verfolgen daher eine biomimetische Strategie, womit man verschiedene Zelltypen miteinander koppelt um sozusagen “eine technisches Kopie eines Gewebes” zu erzeugen. Letztendlich wollen wir “metabolisches Lego” spielen, um verschiedene Inhaltsstoffe kombinatorisch erzeugen zu können.

Projektthema

In Kooperation mit dem Institut für Mikrosystemtechnik (Gruppe Dr. Guber) wurde ein mikrofluidisches Zweikammersystem entwickelt und für Tabak-BY-2 adaptiert. Das entsprechende Patentverfahren läuft und im Rahmen des BMBF Programms “Neue Bioökonomie” geht es nun darum, gemeinsam mit der Firma Phyton Biotech (Ahrensburg), die Idee des “metabolischen Lego” an einem Beispiel zu zeigen. Als Modell für diesen proof-of-principle haben wir den Alkaloidstoffwechsel von Tabak ausgesucht, der so umgesteuert werden soll, dass die Zellen am Ende Nornicotin erzeugen, ein Wirkstoff mit einer erst vor kurzem entdeckten starken Wirkung gegen Alzheimer.

Fragestellung

Im Vorfeld wurden schon zwei metabolische Module entwickelt. Im ersten Modul ist ein frühes Schlüsselenzym der Alkaloidsynthese überexprimiert, im zweiten Modul ein Cytochrome-P450 Enzym, das Nornicotin synthetisiert. Untersuchungen der Inhaltsstoffe mithilfe von HPLC zeigen, dass die beiden Module functional sind. Das Problem ist nun jedoch, dass diese Produkte in der Zelle zurückgehalten werden. Im Rahmen des Projekts soll nun geprüft werden, ob man dieses Problem durch einen physikalischen Trick überwinden kann: mithilfe von extreme starken (1-30 kV/cm), aber extrem kurzen (10-50 ns) elektrischen Feldern kann man in Pflanzenzellen kurzzeitige Membranporen induzieren, die sich innerhalb weniger Minuten wieder schliessen. Die Zellen überleben das recht gut und teilen sich weiterhin. Es soll nun geprüft werden, ob man durch diese Behandlung in den beiden metabolischen Modulen einen Export des Produkts ins Kulturmedium erzeugen kann. Diese Behandlungen werden bei unserem Kooperationspartern, dem Labor von Dr. Wolfgang Frey am Institut für Hochenergieimpuls- und Mikrowellentechnologie (IHM) behandelt, die zellbiologischen Analysen und die Messung der Alkaloide über HPLC finden am Botanischen Institut statt.

Betreuung

Fatemeh Rajabi. Ansprechpartner am IHM: Dr. Christian Gusbeth.

Plätze

  • 1-2 Master (als Forschungsmodul, Projektmodul und Masterarbeit zu dieser Thematik möglich)
  • 1 Bachelor (als Modul 8 mit anschließender Bachelorarbeit)

Publikationen

Ziegler J, Facchini PJ (2008) Alkaloid Biosynthesis: Metabolism and Trafficking. Annu Rev Plant Biol 59, 735-769 – pdf