Gene Bank for Crop Wild Relatives

Why the Tax Payer Should Pay for Biodiversity...
WEL
Diversity of crops and their wild relatives represent valuable resources for breeding of new varieties with improved resilience against diseases.

Why we Need a Gene Bank for Crop Wild Relatives?

Latest since the Earth Summit of Rio de Janeiro inn 1992 it became evident that biodiversity is also of economic value. During domestication of our crop plants, breeding was often biased towards high yields. In the meantime it has been understood that a sustainable agriculture has need of additional, quite different, traits - for instance resilience against pathogens or adverse environmental conditions. These traits have been shaped by natural evolution and therefore are still present in the wild relatives of our crops. When we drive these relatives into extinction, we also loose these traits - forever. The WEL-Gene Bank, a network funded by the Federal Ministry for Nutrition, Agriculture and Consumer Protectoin (BMELV) therefore collects such wild relatives all over Germany and assembles them into a gene bank to secure in this way a part of plant biodiversity for the generations to come. However: a gene bank cannot replace the protection of these species in the wild, but it can help to spare these species from extinction to have them available for potential applications in the future.

 

What was our result?

Around 250 species with some 4500 accessions were collected all over Germany and conserved in gene banks, for each entry, a copy was deposited in the central Loki-Schmidt Gene Bank in Osnabrück. We are responsible for the samples collected in the Southwest of Germany. The quality of the gene bank is continuously monitored by germination and viability assays, in addition we check samples for authenticity. For authentication, we not only use classical identification based on morphological traits, but also molecular methods (so called genetic barcoding). Our collection is integratied into the National Plan of Plant Genetic Resources of the Federal Republic of Germany (PGRDEU).

 

What comes nex?

The next step is to exploit the potential of this collection as application. Currently, we work on so called secondary compounds, by which plants manipulate other organisms. This not only concerns classical medical plants, but also novel applications. For instance, we investigate the potential of the WEL Gene Bank for the development of bioherbicides. We could show that essential oils from wild Mints can suppress by so called allelopathy the germination of weeds, while leaving the germination of cereals untouched. We have even elucidated the mode of action: the essential oils contain components that act as signals for programmed cell death. This cellular suicide is useful when plants are infected by fungi. In the context of germination, this response does not make sense. The Mints persuade their competitors to kill themselves – this trick of Nature, we can exploit for a new generation of ecologically safer herbicides.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Genbank für Nutzpflanzen

Warum der Steuerzahler für Biodiversität zahlen sollte...
Samenbank
Vielfalt von Nutzpflanzen und ihren wilden Verwandten sind wertvolle Ressourcen für die Züchtung neuer Sorten mit erhöhter Resistenz gegen Krankheiten.

Wozu brauchen wir eine Genbank für Wilde Verwandte von Nutzpflanzen?

Spätestens seit dem Gipfel von Rio de Janeiro 1992 hat man begriffen, dass Biodiversität auch handfeste wirtschaftliche Bedeutung hat. Bei der Entstehung unserer Kulturpflanzen hat man recht einseitig auf hohe Erträge hin gezüchtet. Inzwischen bemerkt man, dass für eine nachhaltige Landwirtschaft ganz andere Merkmale bedeutsam werden - wie etwa Resistenz gegen Krankheiten oder widrige Umweltbedingungen. Diese Eigenschaften sind in den wilden Verwandten unserer Kulturpflanzen noch vorhanden. Wenn wir diese Verwandten aber ausrotten, dann sind auch diese Eigenschaften weg und zwar für immer. In der WEL-Genbank werden daher in ganz Deutschland diese Arten besammelt und in einer Genbank eingelagert, um so einen Teil der pflanzlichen Biodiversität für künftige Generationen zu sichern. Freilich: den Schutz dieser Arten in der Natur kann das nicht ersetzen. Es geht ganz klar darum, diesen Schatz für mögliche Anwendungen zu erhalten.

 

Was kam heraus?

Deutschlandweit wurden über 250 Arten mit knapp 4500 Akzessionen besammelt und in den Genbanken eingelagert, jeweils ein Duplikat in der zentralen Loki-Schmidt-Genbank in Osnabrück. Bei uns lagern die im Südwesten Deutschlands gesammelten Samenproben. Die Qualität der Genbank wird durch regelmäßige Keim- und Lebensfähigkeitskontrollen überprüft, zusätzlich werden Stichproben auf ihre Echtheit untersucht. Dafür setzen wir nicht nur die klassische Bestimmung anhand morphologischer Merkmale, sondern auch molekulare Methoden (sogenanntes genetic barcoding). Unsere Sammlung ist in den nationalen Plan für Pflanzengenetische Ressourcen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (PGRDEU) integriert.

 

Wie geht es weiter?

Im nächsten Schritt geht es darum, das Potential dieser Sammlung in Anwendung zu überführen. Hier sind wir momentan vor allem an sogenannten Sekundärstoffen interessiert, mit denen Pflanzen andere Organismen beeinflussen. Dazu gehören etwa klassische Heilpflanzen, aber auch neuartige Anwendungen. So untersuchen wir derzeit das Potential der WEL-Genbank für die Entwicklung von Bioherbiziden. Wir konnten zeigen, dass etherische Öle aus wilden Minzen über sogenannte Allelopathie die Keimung von Unkräutern unterdrücken können, während die Keimung von Getreide nicht beeinflusst wird. Wir haben auch schon herausbekommen, wie es funktioniert: in den etherischen Ölen finden sich Komponenten, die als Signal für den programmierten Zelltod wirken. Dieser zelluläre Selbstmord ist bei Befall durch Pilze durchaus eine sinnvolle Strategie, im Zusammenhang mit der Keimung freilich völlig unsinnig. Die Minzen überreden also ihre Konkurrenten zum Selbstmord – dies können wir für eine neue Generation von ökologisch sanfteren Herbiziden nutzen.