For the public

Science is a central column of our society. Therefore, science and society have to keep their dialogue.

 

 

What are we doing?

 

Life is not always easy. There are two ways to respond to that: run away or adapt. To put it bluntly: Animals run away, plants adapt. To secure their survival, they change metabolism, development and shape. We try to understand and to valorise this ability for change. We think that only things, we have thoroughly understood, are ready for meaningful applications.

Individual plant cells can generate an entire new organism. For us, this works only with fertilised eggs. How can a single cell create an ordered whole that is able to resist an everchanging environment? How did plants evolve this huge variety of survival strategies?

 

This is, what we want to understand.

But, we do not only want to understand, we want also to apply that what we have understood:

 

Can we use our knowledge about plant biodiversity to find new solutions for pertinent problems, for instance to safeguard consumer protection or to valorise biodiversity?

Our colleague, Dr. Adnan Kanbar developed a new variety of sorghum that thrives in German and can reach, due to a more efficient vascular system, more than 3 meters height in only four months. more...

Can we use our knowledge on the adaptability of plant cells to render crop plants more resilient to climate change through breeding or specific treatments?

Our colleague Dr. Islam Khattab identified in our collection of the highly endangered European Wild Grape (the ancestor of our domesticated Grapevine) types that are resistant to climate-born fungal diseases, because they are more efficient in activating their immune system. more...

Can we use our knowledge on plant cells to make them produce valuable medical compounds? For instance, by creating an articial chip technically mimicking a plant tissue.

Our colleague Dr. Kunxi Zhang succeeded to find the long searched, but so far elusive enzyme that can de-tyrosinate plant microtubules and, thus, marks them as "highways" for the movement of motor proteins. more...

Für die Öffentlichkeit

Wissenschaft ist ein zentraler Pfeiler unserer Gesellschaft. Darum müssen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft im Gespräch bleiben.

 

 

Woran arbeiten wir?

 

Das Leben ist nicht immer einfach. Es gibt zwei Arten, darauf zu reagieren:  weglaufen  oder  sich  anpassen.  Überspitzt formuliert: Tiere laufen davon, Pflanzen passen sich an. Um ihr Überleben zu sichern, ändern sie ihren Stoffwechsel, ihre Entwicklung und ihre Gestalt. In unserer Arbeit versuchen wir diese Fähigkeit zur Anpassung zu verstehen und zu nutzen. Wir denken, dass man nur das sinnvoll anwenden kann, was man zuvor gründlich verstanden hat:

Einzelne Pflanzenzellen können den ganzen Organismus neu hervorbringen, bei uns kann das nur die befruchtete Eizelle. Wie entsteht hier ein geordnetes Ganzes, wie kann es sich gegen die ständig schwankende Umwelt behaupten? Wie ist die bei Pflanzen sehr große Vielfalt von Überlebensstrategien entstanden?

 

Das wollen wir verstehen.

Wir wollen aber nicht nur verstehen, wir wollen das Verstandene auch anwenden:

 

Können wir unser Wissen über pflanzliche Biodiversität dazu nutzen, neue Problemlösungen zu finden und zur Lebensmittelsicherheit beizutragen?

Unser Mitarbeiter Dr. Adnan Kanbar hat eine neue Sorte der Mohrenhirse (Sorghum bicolor), die bei uns gedeiht und aufgrund eines leistungsfähigeren Leitungssystems in vier Monaten eine Höhe von mehr als 3 Metern erreicht.

Können wir unser Wissen über die Anpassungsfähigkeit von Pflanzenzellen dazu nutzen, Pflanzen über Züchtung oder Behandlung besser gegen den Klimawandel zu schützen?

Unser Mitarbeiter Dr. Islam Khattab konnte in unserer Sammlung der hoch bedrohten Europäischen Wildrebe (der Stamm-Mutter unserer Weinrebe) Typen finden, die gegen klimabedingte Pilzkrankheiten resistent sind, weil sie ihr Immunsystem effizienter aktivieren können. mehr...

Können wir pflanzliche Zellen künstlich so organisieren, dass sie wertvolle Wirkstoffe für die Medizin erzeugen? Hier arbeiten wir mit dem Institut für Mikrostruktur-Technologie zusammen.

Unser Mitarbeiter Dr. Kunxi Zhang konnte erstmals das lange gesuchte, aber nie gefundene Enzym finden, das Mikrotubuli de-tyrosiniert und so als "Autobahnen" für die Bewegung von Motorproteinen markiert. mehr...