EUCOR Master Plant Science

What is the motivation behind the EUCOR Master Plant Science?

What we want

Our planet depends on plant life. The central challenges of the future are food security, sustainable use of natural resources, and control over the consequences of climate change. All three challenges are intimately linked with Plant Science. To cope with these challenges, we need to join science, application and society. Plant Science has been very international from its very beginnings. The Plant Science of the future has to become even more international.

The Upper Rhine Region is not only geographically in the center of Europe, it is one of the region, where the idea of an European identity has shaped society down to the everyday life of people. In a time, where Europe as a project is under pressure due to populistic movements or even the exit of entire countries, the five universities of Strasbourg, Colmar, Freiburg, Karlsruhe, and Basel have set up the EUCOR European Campus, a project that is unique worldwide, because in contrast to other universities, EUCOR is crossing the borders.

This EUCOR European Campus has now to be filled with real life. Plant scientists from all five EUCOR universities have therefore united to set up a joint Master programme.

 

What we do

To get rapidly from vision to reality, we will first start to open current modules in Plant Science for students from the other EUCOR universities. Since all partners have successfully established the European Credit Point Transfer System and reshaped their study curricula into consecutive Bachelor and Master courses, all preconditions are set to start straightaway. EUCOR Plant Science students will get their degree from their home university, but in addition will obtain a EUCOR certificate as positive asset while applying for jobs or Ph.D. positions.  As longterm objective a joint Eucor Master programme Plant Science will be established, such that students will obtain a real European degree.

 

What the benefits are

The students joing the EUCOR Master can complement the competences acquired in their home university by high-level scientific and technical skills from other EUCOR sites which will improve their position on the international job market. For the partner universities, it is possible to make us of courses available in the other sites, such that considerable synergies are released. A third important issue: people that cooperate in teaching, will also cooperate in research, which will further contribute to the integration of the Upper Rhine Region as major science center in Europe. Thus, the academic integration stimulated by EUCOR, will also promote the already established networks in Plant Science, such as the Interreg Upper Rhine network Vitifutur.

EUCOR Master Plant Science

Worum geht es beim EUCOR Master Pflanzenwissenschaften?

Was wir wollen

Unser Planet lebt auf der Basis pflanzlichen Lebens. Die zentralen Herausforderungen der Zukunft sind Ernährungssicherheit, nachhaltige Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen und die Kontrolle über die Folgen des Klimawandels. Alle drei Herausforderungen hängen eng mit den Pflanzenwissenschaften zusammen. Um sie zu meistern, müssen wir Wissenschaft, Anwendung und Gesellschaft zusammenbringen. Pflanzenwissenschaften war schon jeher sehr international aufgestellt. Die Pflanzenwissenschaften der Zukunft müssen es noch mehr sein.

Die Oberrhein-Region ist nicht nur das geographische Zentrum Europas, sondern auch eine Region, wo die Idee einer europäischen Identität bis in den Alltag hinein das Leben der Menschen geformt hat. In einer Zeit, wo das Projekt Europa durch populistische Bewegungen oder gar den Austritt ganzer Länder unter Druck ist, haben die fünf Universitäten Strasbourg, Colmar, Freiburg, Karlsruhe und Basel den EUCOR European Campus gegründet, ein weltweit einmaliges Projekt, weil EUCOR Grenzen überschreitet.

Dieser EUCOR European Campus wird nun mit realem Leben gefüllt. Pflanzenforscher von allen fünf EUCOR Universitäten haben sich daher zusammengeschlossen, um ein gemeinsames Masterprogramm auf die Beine zu stellen.

 

Was wir wollen

Um unsere Vision bald zu verwirklichen, werden wir erst schon bestehende Module in den Pflanzenwissenschaften für Studierende der anderen EUCOR Universitäten öffnen. Da alle Partner das European Credit Point Transfer System etabliert und ihre Curricula entsprechend als konsekutive Bachelor und Master-Kurse umgestaltet haben, sind alle Voraussetzungen gegeben, um unmittelbar beginnen zu können. Studierende des Masterprogramms EUCOR Pflanzenwissenschaften werden ihren Abschluss von ihrer Heimatuniversität bekommen, aber zusätzlich ein EUCOR Zertifikat erhalten, was sie bei Bewerbungen vorlegen können. Langfristig soll ein gemeinsamer Abschluss entwickelt werden.

 

Was das bringt

Die Studierenden können über das EUCOR Masterprogramm das Angebot ihrer Heimatuniversität um wissenschaftliche und technische Fähigkeiten auf hohem Niveau ergänzen, was ihre Startposition in dem immer internationaleren Arbeitsmarkt stärkt. Durch die Öffnung der Kurse können die beteiligten Partner Synergien schaffen. Eine dritte wichtige Komponente: wer bei der Lehre kooperiert, tut dies in der Regel auch in der Forschung, was die Forschungsregion Oberrhein weiter vorantreiben wird. Die schon bestehenden zahlreichen Verflechtungen im Bereich der Pflanzenwissenschaften (etwa die Interreg-Netzwerke BACCHUS, VITIFUTUR oder DialogProTec) werden so im Rahmen von EUCOR noch weiter entwickelt.